Policies & Requirements

Since 2002, Ability Rent A Car has been serving the community of Houston with our late model, well-maintained rental vehicles. With fewer restrictions than other mainstream agencies, we do our best to help our customers qualify. Request a quote online now or call our office at (713) 224-5489.

All renters and additional drivers must provide a current and valid driver's license. If the address on the license is not your current address, then you must provide additional proof of residency if you are the renter.

All renters must provide two proofs of residency, which are two current (not past due) utility bills that service your current address. Examples include gas, cable, electricity, water, or internet. You may also bring in your last three paycheck stubs, last three bank statements, or residential lease with proof of paying the current month's rent. Proof of residency must match the address listed on your driver’s license.

All drivers must be at least 18 years of age at the time of rental. Renters between the ages of 18-20 must provide proof of insurance that will transfer to a rental car in case of an accident.

Daily underage fees are as follows:

  • $20 for ages 18-20.
  • $15 for ages 21-24.

For drivers 21 years of age and older, rental insurance is available for purchase. If you have your own personal vehicle insurance, we are happy to verify whether or not your insurance covers rental vehicles.

Ability Rent A Car accepts cash, credit, or debit cards. Prepaid cards are accepted, but be aware that some prepaid cards, such as Netspend, Greendot, Account Now, Alcon, and ACE, place a 40% hold on top of whatever you spend when renting a vehicle.

If the person responsible for the payment is not the renter, that person needs to provide their State ID or driver's license along with their credit or debit card. In addition, the person providing the payment must sign the contract as a non-additional driver and also pay a dollar fee for each day of the rental. Certain exceptions can be made if the person paying does not live locally. Please call (713) 224-5489 for details.

Renters who pay with cash, debit, and prepaid cards are required to pay a $200 deposit that is refundable upon return of the rental. The deposit is held for incidentals such as (but not limited to):

  • New damage to the vehicle.
  • Bringing the vehicle back dirty.
  • Bringing the vehicle back with the wrong amount of fuel.
  • Driving miles in excess of the allotted amount.
  • Driving through toll roads.

If the vehicle is brought back on time and in the proper condition, the deposit will be returned in full.

All rentals allow for up to 100 miles per day that add up consecutively until the end of the rental. Additional miles can be pre-purchased at the time of your rental at a rate of 10 cents per mile. If the vehicle travels over the mileage restriction, a fee will be assessed equaling 25 cents for every mile above the allotted amount. Mileage can also be purchased if the rental is extended; however, it cannot be extended in the middle of the contract. We do not offer unlimited miles.

Our vehicles must stay within the State of Texas or Louisiana. In the event that the vehicle is taken out of the state without prior authorization from Ability Rent A Car, a fee will be assessed up to $200 for each state line that is crossed.

Renters are responsible for all toll charges, fines, parking tickets, or other related fees. All our vehicles are equipped with an EZ Tag for the renter's convenience. If used, the renter must pay a $10 activation fee plus the total amount of toll charges accrued. The payment for the tolls is to be paid upon return of the rental or when a payment to extend a rental is made. Any parking violation or traffic violation will be billed directly to the renter.

All vehicles rented at Ability Rent A Car are non-smoking.

Reliable Rentals from Ability Rent A Car

Ability serves Houston and the surrounding areas including Pasadena, Bellaire, Channelview, and all nearby communities. Request a quote online now or call (713) 224-5489 to learn more about our car rentals, minivan rentals, SUV rentals, and truck rentals.

Home / Policies & Requirements